Saturday, April 18, 2009

Where in the World Have I Been?

This was going to be called "Merit Pay, Part Deux", but that seemed a bit pretentious. I suppose that I'll just stick with "Where in the World Have I Been?"

I've not posted anything in a long while and before I truly begin, allow me to explain my reasons...
1st - The whole concept of merit pay and NCLB pisses me off to such a degree that my hair actually hurts. They cause me physical pain in my hair...among other places.
2nd - I'm not so sure that this is going to do any "good" other than give me something to read in between the rants that I engage myself in.

Ok, now merit pay...

April 20th is the beginning of the end. The beginning of the end of the school year. For all intents and purposes, the school year ends four days from April 20th. Book it. Set it in stone. Have T-shirts made up to commemorate it. April 24th will be the last (meaningful) day of school of the 2008-2009 school year. How do I know this? Say it with me..."The CRCT lasts from the 20th until the 24th." Once the kids are tested...who cares, right?

Well...I do for one, but who's counting?

We're finally going to see if those teachers did their collective jobs. The test will definitively show us who is smart and who was not taught properly. I say, "not taught properly" because according to No Child Left Behind every child is smart and motivated to learn. If they don't learn...it's the teachers' fault. Teachers can be so sneaky. I marvel at how they manage to teach one subgroup while ignoring the others...when they're all in the same classroom! It's hard to come up with code words so that information can be passed from teacher to pupil, but still make sure that "the others" don't get it. Think of the planning involved. The meetings. The sneaking about. It's all very cloak-and-dagger. The professors at The John Grisham School of Education would be proud.

Oh, and did I mention that The Test measures what the students learned during their 36 weeks of school? Even though the test is given after only 31 weeks? Anyone ever done THAT math? I have. 31 and 36 aren't equivalent...that means "equal" to all of you kids who I've neglected to teach over the years. To those of you who I DID teach...the meeting is at the same place as 3 weeks ago. Coded message to follow: It rained in the park yesterday...Mary had a little lamb...my dog has fleas.

My pay could be based on that? I figured that I should at least do some figuring. That's what I came up with...31 < 36.

I feel like a 21st century Columbus, "No. The Earth isn't flat! Just open your eyes!"

"No way, Columbus! You're crazy! We prefer to believe what others tell us, and not explore the facts for ourselves."

Well...perhaps I'm not quite on the level of Mr. Columbus, but you get the idea.

Oh, before I forget, have you seen Hard Times at Douglas High? Must see TV. It's a 2005/6 documentary filmed at Frederick Douglas High School in Baltimore, MD. It details the struggles of the teachers and students at an almost all black HS. Very revealing. It's on HBO this month. Try to catch it.

My hair is beginning to hurt. It's time for a Goody's and a cold one.

1 comment: